Managing User Account Information

Note: All users can update their own account information. For information about how Admins can update other users’ accounts click here.

This document covers everything you need to know about your own user account and what can be updated. Click on a link in the list to jump to that section:

How to update your name and contact information

You can set the following contact information for your account: Email, Title, Address, Phone Number, and Company. Most organizations put in email, and title for their staff. Address, phone number, and company, are more applicable to requesters.

Steps for updating your name and contact information

  1. Sign in to your account
  2. Click the SETTINGS link in the header
  3. Click the relevant name or contact information field to update it
  4. Click the SAVE button

 

How to update your password

The steps below are for updating your password after signing into your account. For information about what to do if you need to reset your password in order to sign in click here.

 

Steps for updating your password

  1. Sign in to your account
  2. Click the SETTINGS link in the header
  3. Type your current password in the Current Password box
  4. Type your new password in the New Password box
  5. Type your new password in the New Password Confirmation box
  6. Click the CHANGE PASSWORD button

 

How to set your hourly rate

Note: This setting will only be visible if your organization has purchased NextRequest's payments module

If your organization charges requesters for the cost of fulfilling request, it may want to track the cost of the time you spend fulfilling requests. You can set the cost of your time in dollars per hour and this number will be used to calculate the cost of the amount of time you spend fulfilling each request. 

 

Steps for setting your hourly rate

  1. Sign in to your account
  2. Click the SETTINGS link in the header
  3. Enter your hourly rate in the box "Hourly rate (dollars per hour)"
  4. Click the SAVE button

 

How to set a backup user for your requests

You can designate another user as a backup for your account. This user will receive copies of notifications for your requests. There are two types of backup users:

  • Out-of-office backup: the out-of-office backup is for when you are temporarily out of the office or unable to manage your requests for another reason. The out-of-office backup will receive copies of ALL notifications that you receive during the dates that you specify.
  • Permanent backup: the permanent backup is for when there is somebody who has oversight over whether all your requests are responded to in time. For example a department head may be the permanent backup for all publishers and staff in their department. The permanent backup will receive copies of all your Overdue and Due Soon notifications.

Steps for setting an out-of-office backup

  1. Sign in to your account
  2. Click the SETTINGS link in the header
  3. Locate the Backups section under Account details
  4. Click the drop-down under Out-of-Office backup and select the user you would like to set as your backup
  5. Enter the start date and end date for when you will be out of the office
  6. Click the SAVE button

Steps for setting a permanent backup

  1. Sign in to your account
  2. Click the SETTINGS link in the header
  3. Locate the Backups section under Account details
  4. Click the drop-down under Permanent Backup and select the user you would like to set as your backup
  5. Click the SAVE button

How to update notification preferences

NextRequest sends out notifications to keep you informed about updates to the requests that you have been assigned to. When your account is first created all of the notifications are turned on by default. You can go into your settings at anytime to update which notifications you receive.

NextRequest also sends out two daily emails which can not be turned off:

  • A daily digest of all updates that have been made to your assigned requests within the last 24 hours
  • A list of all of your assigned requests that have are due soon or overdue

NextRequest sends out notifications for the following request updates:

  • Request reopened
  • Request published
  • Request closed
  • External message added
  • Document released
  • Department changed
  • Due date changed
  • You are auto-assigned to newly opened request
  • You are added/removed as the Point of Contact
  • You are added/removed as support staff
  • Internal message added
  • Document added
  • Document retracted
  • Request pending
  • Request resumed
  • Request visibility changed
  • You are assigned to or removed from a task

Steps for updating notification preferences

  1. Click the SETTINGS link in the header
  2. Locate the section Email Preferences
  3. Uncheck the box next to any email notifications that you no longer want to receive. Uncheck the All checkbox to turn off all notifications
  4. Scroll to the bottom of the screen and click the UPDATE EMAIL PREFERENCES button

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.