Logging Hours Spent on a Request

Note: Staff can only log hours for themselves and cannot edit or delete their hours. Publishers can log hours for anybody but cannot edit or delete theirs or anybody else’s hours. Admins can log, edit, or delete hours for anybody.

Depending on local law, requesters may be required to pay for documents based on the time a staff member spent finding the documents. The Log Hours function is an easy way to keep track of the time used so that the requester can pay accordingly.

The total number of hours logged for a request is shown at the bottom of the Staff section on the request page. If your agency has purchased the Payments module and entered an hourly rate for staff members, the total cost of fulfilling the request will appear her as well.

For information about how to view the total number of hours worked by individual staff click here.

 

Click on a link below to jump to that section:

 

 

How to log hours spent on a request

Note: Staff can only log hours for themselves. Publishers and Admins can log hours for any user.

Steps for logging hours spent on a request

  1. Sign in to your account
  2. Navigate to the request you want to log hours for
  3. Click the Log Hours icon ()
  4. Enter the hours and minutes spent
  5. Select the person who you are logging time for from the dropdown menu.
    • Note: Staff can only log hours for themselves
  6. If the person you are logging hours for is in more than one department, select the department that the hours count for
  7. Enter a description of how the time was spent
  8. Click the ENTER HOURS button

 

 

How to edit logged hours

Note: Only admins can edit logged hours

Steps for editing logged hours

  1. Sign in to your account
  2. Navigate to the request that you want to edit the logged hours of
  3. Move the cursor without clicking over the logged hours in the request timeline that you want to edit
  4. Click the Edit icon () that appears at the bottom right of the logged time entry in the request timeline
  5. Update the hours and minutes, description, staff member and/or department 
  6. Click the ENTER HOURS button

 

 

How to delete logged hours

Note: Only admins can edit logged hours

Steps for deleting logged hours

  1. Sign in to your account
  2. Navigate to the request that you want to delete logged hours for
  3. Move the cursor without clicking over the logged hours in the request timeline that you want to delete
  4. Click the Delete icon () that appears at the bottom right of the logged time entry in the request timeline
  5. Click OK

 

 

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.